“You call this fun?”

The club I teach at has a unique class called “Tread”.  Think Spinning on a Treadmill.  The participants each wear a set of headphones in which they jam to music and listen to the teacher give them specific drills to perform.  This is one of my favorite classes to teach, and I am always in awe at how hard everyone works!   The class lets me throw any drill at them AND they don’t give me one finger gestures OR call me names (out loud, anyways.)

Tuesday I got to Tread class and was super excited to present them with my latest interval creation.  I began class with something about how “fun” the drills were going to be.  (Picture giddiness and wringing of hands.)  It didn’t take anyone long- myself included – to figure out how tough this hour long class was going to be.  But we were all in for the long haul and it kicked our trash.  About halfway through class one of the ladies yells, “You call this fun?”   What else would you call it?

So here are the intervals – try them out and let me know what you think.  You always pick how fast you want to go and how much to slow down: (*variations at the end)

Time:  55 – 60 minutes

1.  Warm up 7 – 8 minutes on treadmill at steady pace to warm up the muscles, get the blood flowing and start to bring the heart rate up.

2.  Work on 7 different incline levels.  4-5-6-7-8-9-10-11

3.  You will climb from a 4 to an 11, three times.

4.  Interval time is equal amounts of time on and off.

5.  After warm up, it is time to start the first climb.  Spend one minute on each level – 4 to 11.  On a level 4, speed up as much as you can for 30 seconds, and slow down for 30 seconds.  Repeat on each level up to an 11.  This first climb will take 8 minutes.

6.  After the first climb, bring the treadmill down to a level 1 and find a steady pace for 3 minutes.

7.  Second climb is same as the first for levels 4 to 11, but now spend 1.5 minutes on each level.  45 seconds speeding up, 45 seconds slowing down. This second climb lasts 12 minutes.

8.  After the second climb, bring the treadmill down to a level 1 and find a steady pace for 3 minutes.

9.  Third climb is same as the first for levels 4 to 11, but now spend 2 minutes on each level.  1 minute speeding up, 1 minute slowing down.  This third climb lasts 16 minutes.

10.  After the third climb, bring the treadmill down to a level 1 and start to cool down.

11.  Cool down and stretch.

* Variations:

  • Pick 7 of your own levels to work on. (example 1 – 7)
  • Only do one of the climbs instead of all 3.

Happy climbing and let me know how you much “fun” you had!

2 thoughts on ““You call this fun?”

  1. I loved this Trish. It’s challenging but feels so good to finish! After doing this a few times and more of your tread drills I have definitely increased my strength and noticed a marked increase in my conditioning. I am sure it had something to do with my kicking butt on those Inca trail steps in the Peruvian mountains for 3.5 days straight!

Leave a Reply

