Intervals – Bring it on

As a follow up from this post, here is your promised interval drill.  My Wednsday Spin class tried this out for you already and it was tough, intense, sweaty and we loved it!  The intervals were done Tabata Style and on a spin bike, but they would work nicely while running (outside, not on a treadmill), while jumping rope or with plyometrics.  Couple of things to point out:

–  The entire workout including the warm up and cool down is only 45 minutes long.

–  You should be working so intensely during the interval, that you cannot do more than 30 minutes of the actual intervals.

Are you ready?

First, let me give you the Tabata Drill and then put in in workout form for you.

TABATA DRILL:

20 sec high intensity; 10 seconds low intensity
20 sec high intensity; 10 seconds low intensity
20 sec high intensity; 10 seconds low intensity
20 sec high intensity; 10 seconds low intensity
20 sec high intensity; 10 seconds low intensity
20 sec high intensity; 10 seconds low intensity
3 minutes recovery (You NEED this 3 minutes off.  If not, work harder.)

TOTAL TIME:  6 minutes

 

WORKOUT:

–  Warm up:  10 minutes (**don’t try to skimp on this – do at least 10 minutes)

–  TABATA DRILL 1 = 6 minutes
–  TABATA DRILL 2 = 6 minutes
–  TABATA DRILL 3 = 6 minutes
–  TABATA DRILL 4 = 6 minutes
–  TABATA DRILL 5 = 6 minutes

–  Continue to Cool Down and Stretch:  5 – 10 minutes

The 20 seconds of high intensity in the TABATA DRILL could be:  climbing, sprinting, adding resistance, combining speed and incline, etc…..  The possibilities are endless and it was perfect on the spin bike!

Enjoy getting your sweat on!

2 thoughts on “Intervals – Bring it on

  1. OK Trish…I’m going to try this tomorrow. Never done it before! I do group fitness 5x per week and I’ve started running 3 miles on Saturdays. I don’t have a decent watch, but I think I can count houses for the timing. I also live at the top of a killer hill…that’s called resistance…right? I think it just might kill me. But I’m going to try and be thrilled if I only make it half way!

Leave a Reply

