Don’t roll your eyes at me

I love the Treadmill.  No really, I do.  Many of you might hear or see “Treadmill” and break out in a cold sweat.  The thought of having to pound out miles on this torture device sends you into an anxiety attack.  For me, I have this group of hard core women who come to some of my Tread classes and THEY are the reason why I love the treadmill.

See how happy she looks?  That is how my class members look!  (That is oozing with sarcasm – I usually get eye rolls, grunts and a certain finger now and again)

I have to miss class this morning, so in honor of my groupies, here is a new Treadmill routine.  Try it out at home or when you are missing me.  I will explain how I did it in class, and then read below for modifications.  The best thing about doing drills on the Treadmill, is that you get to move at your own pace and pick your own speeds.  Do what is best for you that day, but push yourself. Enjoy….and no eye rolls please.

Here is the pattern you will be following, repeated 4 times:
3 minute climb at a steady yet challenging pace
2 minute walk or jog
3 minutes of speed drills – 30 seconds faster pace and 30 seconds slower pace  for 3 minutes (you pick how fast and slow you go.)
2 minute walk or jog

Here we go…

– Warm Up:  8 – 10 minutes
– 3 minute climb on levels 4, 5, 6. 1 minute each level, find a challenging pace.
– 2 minute walk or jog
– 3 minute speed drill, 30 seconds faster pace and 30 seconds slower pace
– 2 minute walk or job
– 3 minute climb on levels 7, 8, 9. 1 minute each level, find a challenging pace.
– 2 minute walk or jog
– 3 minute speed drill, 30 seconds faster pace and 30 seconds slower pace
– 2 minute walk or job
– 3 minute climb on levels 10, 11, 12. 1 minute each level, find a challenging pace.
– 2 minute walk or jog
– 3 minute speed drill, 30 seconds faster pace and 30 seconds slower pace
– 2 minute walk or job
– 3 minute climb on levels 13, 14, 15. 1 minute each level, find a challenging pace.
– 2 minute walk or jog
– 3 minute speed drill, 30 seconds faster pace and 30 seconds slower pace
– 2 minute walk or job
– Cool down and stretch: 8 – 10 minutes

Modifications:
– Do the pattern 1 – 2 times through instead of 4.
– Stay on the 4, 5, 6 for incline each climb instead of moving up.
– Take a longer amount of time on your walk or jog.

Have a great weekend!

2 thoughts on “Don’t roll your eyes at me

  1. Awesome! We are on spring break now but love hitting the little YMCA in my hometown for a workout when visiting family….I will do these treadmill drills there on Monday. Thank you! (I had to hit the outdoors this week and had another stinkin root canal yesterday! You know I love doing tread with ya. I missed it this week!)

Leave a Reply

