Yummy for all our Tummies

Shortly after getting married, my mother in law introduced me to the easiest recipe on the planet….Taco Soup. It soon became a staple in our house, as Jesse and I were both still going to college and needed simple, easy, and cheap meals. Over the years, we have continued to enjoy this recipe and I have learned a few things by “slaving” over the stove preparing it:

1.  You can make a pot of Taco Soup and live on it all week long.
2.  The longer it sits, the better it is.
3.  Company loves it!
4.  My kids love it — double bonus!

Ingredients:
2 lbs raw chicken breast, ground turkey, ground bison or beef (I have tried all of these and you can’t go wrong with any of them)
2 cans (15 oz)  any bean (kidney, pinto, black)  Mix and match on these
2 cans (15 oz each) diced or stewed tomatoes
1 can (15 oz) corn
1 can (8 oz) tomato sauce
1 can (4 oz) diced green chile peppers
1 cup water
1 packet taco seasoning
1 packet DIPS Ranch Mix (my mom just introduced me to this one and I LOVE it!)

Directions:
Cook meat as desired (grill and dice small or brown). Add meat and all other ingredients to large pot (no need to drain canned goods unless you like to rinse the beans). Bring to boil then turn heat down and simmer for 1 – 2 hours. Dish into soup bowls and top with variety of toppings. Here are a few my family likes:

Mozzarella or cheddar cheese
Greek yogurt or sour cream
Diced avocado
Home-made corn chips (and if you’re feeling naughty…Fritos)

Enjoy!

8 thoughts on “Yummy for all our Tummies

  1. You can also make this deliciously vegetarian and forgo the meat or add a meat substitute. Also you can substitute corn tortillas for the chips and let them breakdown and flavor the soup. Thank you for reminding me of one of my old favorites. Yum!

    • Glad to remind you of a fav 🙂 More beans would be a great add-in for removing the meat. That is exactly what we do with the tortilla chips (not real chips – homemade corn tortilla chips) let them breakdown in the soup. YUMMY!!!

    • Shea – Hi! Loved peeking at your blog this morning. You are adorable and should blog more often 🙂 Yes, I think Taco Soup is a favorite among all recipe collectors. I have been cooking this since I got married 14 years ago, but never added the Ranch in until my Mom showed me over the holidays. I think it adds SO much to the flavor!

  2. LOVE IT! Classic recipe, I think we all grew up with a version of this recipe. Bill-y request it all the time, and we used to be naughty and top with Fritos- sadly Fritios don’t fit into our eating for health lifestyle. Miss you Fritios ;(.

  3. Pingback: White Chicken Chili « Healthy Mama, Happy Mama

Leave a Reply

