Warming my Belly and my Heart

I love hot cocoa for 2 main reasons:

1. I am always cold. Always. Jesse teases me that my thermostat is set at 72.8, and I need a jacket at 72.7.  Yeah…I hate it when he is right. Drinking hot cocoa warms my belly…

2. I have such fond memories of sitting at the kitchen counter with my Dad while he drank his morning cup of hot cocoa. My Mom always made it on the stovetop with whole milk. I can still hear the spoon clinking against the sides of the ceramic mug as he furiously mixed in the chocolate powder. He would then dip slices of my Mom’s homemade buttered toast into the cocoa.  It was the best.  The. Best.  Drinking hot cocoa brings back these fond memories which warm my heart…

When my Mom isn’t around to whip me up a mug of her cocoa, I use the next best thing…the Cocomotion.  If you have never heard of such a thing, it is a nifty little machine (found at most any retail stores), that will mix and warm your cocoa to the perfect temperature.

My favorite recipe for keeping my belly and heart warm (and for only 30 calories!):

1/2 cup unsweetened vanilla almond milk
1 cup water
1 Tbsp cocoa
Stevia *this is a must!

Put all ingredients in Cocomotion and press “ON”. When I am feeling like I need a little extra zip in my cup, I add in an extract like hazelnut, almond, or coconut.  But just a tiny bit. Stay warm, my friends!!

2 thoughts on “Warming my Belly and my Heart

Leave a Reply

