I’m an Idaho Girl

Idaho. What did you think of? Potatoes, right? I think of potatoes, too, but I also think of my dad.

Every summer our family had a garden. A very large garden. All gardens in Idaho are huge, just so you know. Ours was no different. Every spring my dad gathered the family to the newly tilled square in the northwest corner of our yard to plant the garden. We planted peas, corn, beans, cucumbers, radishes, tomatoes, AND little red potatoes. All summer long we watered and weeded and enjoyed the fruits (or vegetables) of our labors. My favorite was the little red potato. I can still picture my dad with his shovel out in the garden digging up one of those mounds to unearth a bundle of potatoes. My mom would cook them up fresh, and we would store the rest in a box with a blanket over the top in my dad’s shop. That garden would feed our family all winter.

Today, I roasted some little red potatoes and smiled as I pictured my dad in the garden. I thought I’d share the recipe and maybe you’ll think of your own fond memory.

ROSEMARY AND GARLIC ROASTED RED POTATOES

– Lay potatoes evenly on a cookie sheet and spray them lightly with cooking spray.
– Sprinkle chopped garlic cloves and rosemary needles on top.
– Bake at 425 for 30 minutes or until done.

One thought on “I’m an Idaho Girl

Leave a Reply

