Mmmmm…mango!

We are kind of creatures of habit at our house when it comes to our fruit and vegetable selection. We don’t leave our comfort zone very often (or at all). I know what each family member likes, dislikes, tolerates, gags down, etc.  I decided this year to “eat seasonably” and encourage our taste buds to accept some new flavors (that is code for forcing my kids to try new fruits and veggies). I typically load my cart each week with the old fruit standbys that will eventually make their way into protein shakes, smoothies, salads, or lunch boxes – bananas, apples, strawberries, mixed berries, lemons, limes –  but I have had my eye out for something new or that we haven’t had for awhile. This week I spotted a beautiful pile of mangoes and knew this could work its’ way into a delicious, refreshing afternoon treat.

It was immediately sliced up when I got home and tossed in the freezer.  The next day it did indeed make its’ way into an afternoon protein shake and it came out so smooth and creamy that I just had to share.

1 scoop vanilla protein powder
1/2 mango (frozen)
1/2 cup unsweetened vanilla almond milk
ice cubes
stevia

I blended this up super-duper thick (like the blender was working overtime). The recipe can act as a base, and you can mix things up by adding strawberries, bananas, pineapple, or coconut extract. This might be a beautiful relationship (while they last) with our mmmmm…mango!

Leave a Reply

