Honey Whole Wheat Pizza Dough

I have mentioned before that I grew up in a small town in Idaho. I loved growing up in rural Idaho and wouldn’t trade it for anything. There are certain characteristics that set us “small town Idaho folk” apart from the rest. We just do some things differently. It makes me smile to think of some of the characteristics small town people share. For instance…you wave to everyone you pass on the road whether you know them or not. You know everyone in your graduating class, their spouse, and their children (no joke – Jesse was nominated to plan our 20 year class reunion and he didn’t even go to my school!). Distance is measured in time, not miles (I still to this day have no idea how many miles it is to my parents house…but I do know it takes me an hour and 45 minutes to get there). Directions include things like “turn right at the yellow house, look for the barn on the left, then turn right at the mailbox made out of horseshoes”, instead of using street names. And when it comes to cooking, nothing is measured. It’s a little of this, a sprinkle of that, mix until it looks right.

With that in mind, I shouldn’t have been surprised when I called my mom for her pizza dough recipe and got a list of ingredients with no amounts. I had to play with it a bit, but I think I got it pretty darn close and my kiddos are loving pizza night. And…so am I!

HONEY WHOLE WHEAT PIZZA DOUGH
1 cup warm water
2 Tbsp honey
1 package active dry yeast
2 1/2 cups whole wheat flour
1 tsp salt
1 Tbsp olive oil

Mix together water, honey, and yeast in a bowl or cup until dissolved. In a mixer, combine flour, salt, olive, and water mixture. Mix until ingredients form a ball of dough. Add more water if needed. You may have to remove from mixing bowl and knead a little bit more. Place dough in a bowl with a lid and let rise in a warm spot for 30 minutes. (Lift the lid every so often to let the excess air out. My Mom taught me this. It’s called “burping”.) Divide dough into 2 – 4 portions depending on how large and how thick you want your pizza crust to be. Roll evenly on a pizza stone or cooking sheet (lightly coated with oil to avoid sticking) and top with pizza toppings of choice. I like to divide my dough into 3 equal portions and let my kids design their own pizza. Bake in oven at 450 for 15 minutes or until edges are crisp.  Yum!

The entire recipe is about 1370 calories.

3 thoughts on “Honey Whole Wheat Pizza Dough

  1. Pingback: Butternut Gorgonzola Pizza « Healthy Mama, Happy Mama

  2. I have made this a couple of times for my family and we all LOVE it! I just put the ingredients in my bread maker and it takes less than 5 minutes 🙂 Thanks for the recipe!!

Leave a Reply

