Suck it up, Princess!

I don’t like being cold. In fact, I will go as far as to say that I hate being cold. To me being cold is synonymous with pain and misery. You’d think since I have lived in Idaho and Utah my entire life that I would be used to the low temperatures, but I’m not. Don’t get me wrong, I love the beauty of the fluffy white stuff and the changing of the seasons, but…I love those from the comforts of my home while sitting in front of the fireplace sipping hot cocoa. With this dislike for the cold weather, it has stopped me from doing many of the outdoor winter sports that my friends love and live for each year – skiing, snowshoeing, snowmobiling, ice skating, sledding, making snowmen, snowball fights – things I have wanted to participate in, but I was too busy whining about the temperature.

I decided this year was going to be different. This year I was actually going to enjoy some type of outdoor winter activity. In the cold. Brrrr. As I had an inner struggle with myself of why I should NOT try doing a winter sport, a motto from a past client came to mind:  “Suck it up, Princess!” He would say this to himself when he had the desire to quit.

So last weekend, I sucked it up. Jesse and I tried out snowshoeing for the first time. We rented snowshoes. I dug all of my old snow clothes out. I bought new snow boots. I made snacks for the hike. I was ready.

IMG_1437

Much to my surprise, I stayed warm and enjoyed every single minute of our hike. Why had I been avoiding this for so long??  The fitness enthusiast in me now wants to do this every weekend for my workout!!  To those of you in my shoes who have been avoiding the cold like the plague, I say – Suck it up, Princess!  And then come join me on the trails!

5 thoughts on “Suck it up, Princess!

  1. Pingback: Coconut Pineapple Overnight Oats | Healthy Mama, Happy Mama

  2. Pingback: Coconut Pineapple Overnight Oats | Healthy Mama Happy Mama

Leave a Reply

