Breakfast Cookies

“Do you EVER have any treats?”

Jesse and I get asked this question a lot. I mean, a lot.  And our response is, “of course we do!”  Jesse’s favorite treat would involve ice cream of some sort, and I have this hankering for a homemade chocolate chip cookie every now and then. I don’t make them every day or every week (or believe me, I would eat them all!), but sometimes I want the cookie, but not the calories that come with them. So, I often have to be creative with recipes to come up with a cleaner and healthier version. Given my love of chocolate chip cookies, you can imagine my delight when I stumbled upon this recipe for a healthy cookie. It was right up my alley:  2 ingredients and play with the add ins. Check out how simple these are….oh, and drool a little bit as you scroll down…

Breakfast Cookies

1 banana
1/2 cup oats

Mash banana and oats together in a bowl and then start to play! Try adding walnut pieces (or any nut), carob chips, cocoa nibs, coconut flakes, dried fruit, cocoa powder, etc. My favorite combo so far has been carob chips and walnut pieces. Divide mix into 6 equal portions and spoon onto baking sheet lined with parchment paper. Bake in oven for 15 minutes at 350. Each cookie is only 43 calories (minus the add-ins). I serve a couple of cookies with a protein shake and have myself a delicious and satisfying breakfast.

My sweet tooth thanks me.

3 thoughts on “Breakfast Cookies

  1. I made a double batch of these for an after school snack for my 4 boys today (ages 5-16) and they LOVED them! I had to actually fight them to get one and I was SO GLAD the bananas weren’t used for banana bread that I would regret eating. This is now our “squishy banana” answer!

  2. I was craving chocolate chip cookies, but wanting something healthier so I opened up your site and I saw this post! I have some in the oven right now! Thanks!

Leave a Reply

