PB&J Overnight Oats

If you’ve been reading my blog for awhile, you know of my recent obsession with overnight oats. If you are new to my blog, you will soon realize I kind of have this thing for overnight oats. You only have to try them once to know why I am head over heels for this mouth-watering breakfast. I love to try new concoctions to add to the base recipe. Let me explain the history behind my latest discovery….

When I was going to Elementary School, I mainly ate school lunch except on those few days a month when burritos were served. Burrito Day meant sack lunch day at my house. I don’t really remember what my sack lunch consisted of, but I do remember two things. One,  getting a dime (or was it 2 dimes?) to buy a small carton of milk and two, getting a peanut butter and jam sandwich wrapped in a Wonder Bread bag. (My mom was the queen of saving all bags and containers for re-use…think Cool-whip containers). I loved those sandwiches. They were sandwiches made with love by my cute mama with her famous homemade raspberry jam. To this day I still think of PB&J sandwiches as comfort food made by her loving hands.

Enter the PB&J Overnight Oats…

PB&J Overnight Oats

Donna Gayle’s actual homemade raspberry jam.

1/3 cup dry oats
1 scoop vanilla protein powder (100 calories)
1/4 cup 0% plain Greek yogurt
1/3-1/2 cup unsweetened vanilla almond milk
cinnamon and stevia
1/2 – 1 Tbsp natural peanut butter
1 TB homemade raspberry or strawberry jam

Mix oats, protein powder, yogurt, milk, cinnamon and stevia in a bowl. Cover the bowl and keep in fridge overnight. In the morning, top oats with peanut butter and jam and mix together.

 I dare you to not lick the bowl.

2 thoughts on “PB&J Overnight Oats

  1. Pingback: Peach Raspberry Overnight Oats | Healthy Mama, Happy Mama

Leave a Reply

