Easy Bruschetta

When Jesse and I lived in Idaho, it was tradition to go to my in-laws for Sunday dinner.  On one such occasion, my mother-in-law introduced me to Bruschetta (don’t ask me why I had lived 20+ years without experiencing this), but I was hooked from the first bite. Oh my. Since then, I have had Bruschetta many times at her home and when we go out to an Italian restaurant, but I have never attempted to make my own. Until today.

It’s Sunday so it seemed appropriate to experiment with a healthy mama version. It’s simple, easy to put together, and absolutely delicious. This may be a permanent Sunday tradition!

Bruschetta

3 roma tomatoes
1 TB olive oil
1 tsp minced garlic
1 tsp balsamic vinegar
3-4 basil leaves
sea salt

Dice tomatoes small and tear basil into small pieces. In a medium bowl, add all ingredients, mix well and sprinkle with sea salt to taste. Cut a homemade french baguette (I bought mine at a local bakery where they bake them fresh everyday) into thin slices, layer on a cookie sheet, lightly coat with olive oil and broil for 1-2 minutes. (stay close by the oven as they brown very quickly). Top bread pieces with a spoonful of bruschetta mix. Repeat every Sunday.

3 thoughts on “Easy Bruschetta

  1. So, I came across your Instagram from a blog I follow… And I thought, “hey! Trish Allen? I used to babysit her kids?” Ha ha ha not sure if you remember me, but way back when, I lived in Susan and Wayne’s ward. Small world 🙂

Leave a Reply

