Overnight Oats – Empty Nut Butter Jar Edition

I have recently discovered making my own nut butters, and I feel like a domestic bad ass. Seriously. The thought of making my own always made my head hurt. Now I find myself wondering why I didn’t try this sooner!  I use my Blendtec Twister Jar, and I have warm nut butters in a matter of minutes. So. Freaking. Good. I store mine in a mason jar. Mason jars remind me of my mama and her mad canning skills.

Homemade Almond Butter

I start to drool just looking at this picture…

One of the many things I love about this new domestic skill, is that every week or so, I end up with an empty mason jar. You know how nut butter jars always have a few gooey spots that you just can’t quite reach with a spoon, a knife, your tongue, your hand, etc?  I have a brilliant solution for this! Make your overnight oats (which I am always raving about) in the empty jar!  Then you’ll be able to enjoy every last morsel of nut butter AND add some flavor to your oats. The basic recipe for the overnight oats is so easy. In the jar mix together:

1/3 cup oats
1 scoop protein powder
1/4 cup plain Greek yogurt
1/2 cup unsweetened vanilla almond milk
cinnamon and stevia

Mason Jar Overnight Oats

The next morning, stir it up (getting all the lil bits of leftover nutty goodness), add any more toppings that your little heart desires and eat up!      PS – follow my instagram account @trishallen where I post even more fun recipes, tips and tricks!

Leave a Reply

